Celebrating our incredible volunteers

The 2019 Volunteer Cocktail Parties took place this week in Sydney on Tuesday 28 May and in Melbourne on Wednesday 29 May to honour the Institute’s invaluable volunteers. 

Following National Volunteer Week, it was a privilege to host more than 100 volunteers in Sydney and 30 in Melbourne to celebrate how they are “making a world of difference” to our actuarial profession and community.

View Photo Gallery

From our membership of 5,000 we have a volunteer force of 1029 volunteers* 

It is this volunteer force that produced 14 government submissions in 2018, and completed significant projects like the Disciplinary Scheme and Code of Conduct Reviews, and the Review of the Appointed Actuary role.

“Volunteers are our “secret sauce,” they are how we get so much done with so little” – President Nicolette Rubinsztein

Volunteering helps members engage with each other; and assists them in giving back to their profession and contributing their skills and experience to society.

Read more about Our Volunteers and write to us with any enquiry related to volunteering.

The celebratory evenings included presentation of the 2019 Volunteer of the Year Awards, recognising outstanding contributions across four categoriesThe nominations call was open from 1 – 23 April 2019 and returned 27 worthy nominations.

Congratulations to the 2019 Volunteer of the Year Award winners

Pictured above L-R: President Nicolette Rubinsztein, John Trowbridge, Michael Storozhev, Iain Bulcraig, Andy Siu, Rob Daly, CEO Elayne Grace.

President’s Award 
Rob Daly – for his leadership as Convenor of the Code Review Taskforce for three years. Rob’s work towards developing a new and approved, principled Code of Conduct was highly valuable and will have significant positive impacts for the reputation of the profession.

Distinguished Service Awards (3)
Iain Bulcraig 
– in recognition of his work on the Appointed Actuary professional standards project.

John Trowbridge – for his service as Convenor of the Disciplinary Scheme Review Committee. In his acceptance speech, John acknowledged David Knox’s valuable input to the Disciplinary Scheme Review.

Daniel Smith – for his leadership and support of the Education Strategy Review as Convenor of the ESR Committee.

Daniel Smith with President and CEO of the Actuaries Institute at Melbourne Cocktail Party

Spirit of Volunteering Award (2)
Jia Yi Tan
 – in recognition of all her great work for the Life Insurance and Wealth Management Committee.

Jia received her Award at the Actuaries Summit.


Andy Siu – in recognition of his great work as LIWMPC Faculty Head, enabling us to get our new Life Insurance subjects launched last year.

Young Volunteer Achievement Award
Michael Storozhev – 
in recognition of his commitment to the Young Data Analytics Working Group and other data analytics projects.

Congratulations again to all our winners and thank you for your incredible service.


*active during May 2018 – May 2019

CPD: Actuaries Institute Members can claim two CPD points for every hour of reading articles on Actuaries Digital.